Latest News

Asirbad Behera, Ranjib Biswal Quit OCA

Nearly all members of OCA including its secretary Asirbad Behera and president Ranjib Biswal quit following the verdict of the Supreme Court.

Nearly all members of OCA including its secretary Asirbad Behera and president Ranjib Biswal quit following the verdict of the Supreme Court.

A new committee has been formed for smooth conduct of the One-Day International (ODI) match between India and England scheduled to be played at the Barabati stadium here on January 19.

As per reports, Debashish Samantaray, Cuttack-Barabati MLA, has been appointed as the chairman of the committee. He will be cooperated by OCA CEO Bidyut Nayak.

Behera, who took charge as OCA secretary on June 25, 2000, has been elected uncontested for the fourth time in a row. Not only OCA, he was in total control of cricket in Odisha from Barabati Stadium.

OCA president Ranjib Biswal said prior to the Supreme Court verdict, the OCA members were treated as democratically elected representatives.

“Now that the recommendations of the Lodha Committee will be implemented, OCA will have a fresh election and new members will be elected,” he added.

The OCA election for the next posts is likely to be held in February.

Members of all 33 district cricket associations, 20 clubs, 10 schools, 5 colleges and 4 ex-officio members will take part in the election.

Courtesy: Odisha TV

Click to comment

Have something to say? Speak up!

Most Popular

Discover Bhubaneswar

We aim to connect with Odias from across the globe through our digital presence and empower them with information related to Bhubaneswar in specific and Odisha in general.

Contact Us

Got a question or some suggestion for us? Want to write a post or share some news with our community? Get in touch with us.

Don’t Miss Out on the News Updates

We send weekly news updates to your email inbox only once in a week.

Copyright © 2016 Discover Bhubaneswar | Owned & Managed by Top League Technologies

To Top